

Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensure Minutes

Tuesday, June 28, 2016 1:00 p.m. Room 200 ~ State Office Building

Members Present:

Representative Drew Christensen Representative Jim Davnie Representative Sondra Erickson Representative Jenifer Loon Representative Carlos Mariani Representative Barb Yarusso Senator Greg Clausen Senator Kevin Dahle Senator Gary Dahms Senator Karin Housley Senator Eric Pratt Senator Charles Wiger

Call to Order by Rep. Sondra Erickson at 1:04 p.m.

Election of Co-chairs – Rep. Mariani moved to have Rep. Sondra Erickson and Sen. Charles Wiger Co-chair the Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensure. **Motion prevails.**

Expectations of the Study Group – Meetings shall take place monthly. Location and gavel will alternate between the House and Senate each month.

Judy Randall from the Office of the Legislative Auditor presented the Office of the Legislative Auditor Report related to the Minnesota Teacher Licensure, recommending a re-design of the current system.

Lisa Larson of House Research presented information regarding the Career and Technical Education Task Force.

Kevin Behr from the Office of the Revisor presented a Categorical Summary of Statutory References to Teacher Licensure.

Tiered-licensure was introduced. Further discussion will take place in the future.

Adjourn – 2:30 p.m.